How Much Fulvic Acid Is Enough? Comparing Shilajit Claims Against the Evidence
Last reviewed May 2026 · 10 min read
Fulvic acid percentage is the most commonly cited quality metric on shilajit labels. Claims range from a modest 15% to a dramatic 85%+, with some brands competing on which can claim the highest number. This competition is almost entirely disconnected from the clinical evidence — because no randomised controlled trial has established a minimum effective fulvic acid dose in humans, and the percentage figure alone, without knowing the total dose consumed, is arithmetically meaningless.
What Fulvic Acid Is and Why It Matters
Fulvic acids are a class of organic compounds produced by the microbial decomposition of plant matter over geological time scales. They are a core component of humic substances — the complex organic fraction of soil, sediment, and shilajit that has resisted further microbial breakdown.
In the context of shilajit, fulvic acids are considered the primary bioactive fraction for several proposed mechanisms:
- Mineral chelation and transport: Fulvic acids form stable complexes with mineral ions, potentially facilitating their absorption across cell membranes. This is the basis of the "fulvic acid as mineral carrier" claim prominent in shilajit marketing.
- Dibenzo-alpha-pyrone chromoproteins (DBPs): These compounds, structurally related to fulvic acids, are proposed to function as electron carriers in the mitochondrial electron transport chain — which underpins the energy and fatigue claims associated with shilajit.
- Antioxidant activity: Multiple in vitro studies have demonstrated free radical scavenging activity from fulvic acid fractions, though in vivo evidence in humans is less robust.
Importantly, fulvic acids are not a single compound but a diverse mixture of low-molecular-weight organic acids with varying structures. "Fulvic acid content" measured by standard analytical methods is a sum of this mixture, not a single quantified molecule.
What Clinical Studies Actually Used
The most-cited clinical trial for shilajit and testosterone (Pandit et al., 2016) used PrimaVie®, a proprietary standardised shilajit extract, at 250 mg twice daily (500 mg/day total) for 90 days. The study produced statistically significant increases in total testosterone, free testosterone, and DHEAS in healthy males aged 45–55.
Critically: the Pandit study did not report the fulvic acid percentage of the PrimaVie extract used. It standardised on a proprietary assay (not published in the study), and the marketed specification of PrimaVie® (typically 50%+ fulvic acid by the manufacturer's assay) is a product specification, not a clinically validated threshold.
Bhattacharyya et al. (2009), which studied the effects of shilajit on exercise- induced fatigue in mice using processed shilajit, similarly did not specify a fulvic acid percentage as the active dose parameter.
Carrasco-Gallardo et al. (2012), reviewing the cognitive and neuroprotective potential of shilajit components, focused on fulvic acid's effect on tau protein aggregation in Alzheimer's disease models — but this was in vitro work, not a human clinical dose-response study.
The conclusion from reviewing the literature is direct: no clinical study has established a minimum effective fulvic acid percentage for human health outcomes. The 50%, 70%, and 80%+ figures that appear in marketing materials are not derived from clinical dose-finding studies.
Why Percentage Alone Is Arithmetically Meaningless
The fundamental problem with comparing products by fulvic acid percentage is that percentage is a ratio — it requires a denominator (the total dose) to produce an absolute quantity. Absolute quantity is the physiologically relevant number.
| Product | Claimed % | Serving size | Actual fulvic acid/serving |
|---|---|---|---|
| Product A | 80% | 100 mg (extract powder) | 80 mg |
| Product B | 40% | 500 mg (whole resin) | 200 mg |
| Product C | 15% | 1,000 mg (resin) | 150 mg |
Product A claims the highest percentage (80%) but delivers the least absolute fulvic acid (80 mg). Product B claims a more modest 40% but delivers 200 mg — 2.5 times more than Product A. A consumer comparing labels by percentage alone would reach the opposite conclusion from the one the numbers actually support.
How Fulvic Acid Is Measured — and Why the Method Matters
There are two main analytical approaches to measuring fulvic acid in shilajit:
Titration-based methods (most common in commercial COAs) involve precipitating humic acids at low pH and treating the supernatant as the fulvic acid fraction. This is operationally defined — "fulvic acid" means "whatever remains soluble at low pH after humic acid precipitation." Different protocols produce different results even on the same sample. The most widely used protocol in the US supplement industry derives from the IHSS (International Humic Substances Society) method, but laboratory variations are common.
HPLC-based methods attempt to quantify specific fulvic acid molecular species rather than the bulk precipitate fraction. HPLC is more specific but also more expensive and less standardised for complex matrices like shilajit. An HPLC-based fulvic acid measurement will produce a different number (typically lower) than a titration-based measurement on the same sample.
A COA that does not specify the analytical method for fulvic acid is reporting a number that cannot be compared across products with confidence. A brand claiming "82% fulvic acid" using a non-standard internal titration protocol is not reporting the same thing as a brand claiming "40% fulvic acid" using the IHSS method with HPLC verification.
The "Tested by Eurofins" Implication
Some brands state their product has been "tested by Eurofins for fulvic acid content" as a quality signal. This can be credible or misleading depending on what specifically was tested. The key distinction — discussed in more detail in our article on extract versus resin — is whether the fulvic acid measurement was conducted on the raw extract ingredient supplied to the manufacturer, or on the finished product as it leaves the factory.
If a 50% fulvic acid extract powder was tested by Eurofins and the brand reports this as its fulvic acid content, the figure applies to the raw ingredient — not to the capsule containing 200 mg of that ingredient diluted into a 500 mg total capsule weight. The finished product fulvic acid percentage in that scenario would be approximately 20%, not 50%.
⚠ Watch out for
High fulvic acid percentage claims (70%+, 80%+) marketed as superior quality signals without specifying: (1) the analytical method used, (2) whether the measurement was on the finished product or the raw extract, and (3) the total dose per serving in mg. These figures are not evidence-based quality thresholds — they are the result of extract concentration and measurement protocol choices, not superior raw material quality.
The Range in the Market
Across shilajit products in our database, fulvic acid claims range from roughly 15% (typical for authentic purified whole resin) to 85%+ (for highly concentrated extract powders). This range does not represent a hierarchy of quality — it primarily reflects whether the product is whole resin or concentrated extract, and which analytical method was used.
ISO 19822:2018, the international standard for shilajit raw material, sets minimum compositional requirements for authentic shilajit including total humic substance content — but does not mandate a specific fulvic acid percentage, because the appropriate range depends on the form and processing of the material.
What a Credible Fulvic Acid Claim Looks Like
✓ What good looks like
A COA for the finished product (not the raw extract) from a named, ISO 17025- accredited laboratory, stating the fulvic acid percentage with the analytical method specified (e.g., "Fulvic acid: 18.3% by IHSS gravimetric protocol"). The supplement facts panel clearly states the total shilajit content per serving in mg. The brand does not claim its fulvic acid percentage represents clinical superiority over products with lower percentages, because no clinical evidence supports that comparison.
The Honest Summary
No clinical study has established a minimum effective fulvic acid dose for any health outcome in humans. The 70%+ and 80%+ marketing figures are not evidence- based targets — they reflect extract processing intensity and measurement protocol choices. When comparing shilajit products, the more useful information is:
- How much shilajit (in mg) per serving?
- What absolute amount of fulvic acid does that serving contain?
- Is the COA for the finished product, and is the method specified?
- Is the lab named and ISO 17025 accredited?
These questions are more scientifically grounded than comparing percentage claims — and they are the questions the ShilajitDB scoring system rewards brands for being able to answer.
Understand fulvic acid percentages in depth
Our detailed guide to fulvic acid percentage claims explains how to interpret numbers on labels and COAs for both resin and extract products.
Fulvic acid percentage explained →